PSA: Protect Your Parents from AOL

aolOkay, so apparently for the last fourteen years my parents were paying for an email address.  WHAAAATTTTT!??!!

To be more specific,they paid $27.99/month for the last 14 years.  That’s $4,702.32!!!  WHAAAAAAAAAAAAATTT!??!?!?!!

This came to my attention the other day, when my father’s account got hacked and I was given the responsibility in remedying the situation.  While prodding around in his account I saw, what was to me, a suspicious charge.

“Dad, what is this $28 charge?” I said.

He responded, “That’s how much AOL charges for an email address.”

Of course, anyone that knows anything about the internet knows that’s not right.  For the last fourteen years they were being charged for something called “Advantage Plus” (basically a bunch of AOL perks, non of which my father or mother ever used).

I told him to cancel.  He got really worried he’d lose his email address.  I assured him he wouldn’t.  He would just lose the “perks” he wasn’t using.

A few days went by and I asked him if he ended the “Advantage Plus” program.  He responded, “I haven’t gotten a chance to call them, do you think they have 24 hour call center?”

“Call center?  Dad, it’s an internet service.  You can cancel on the internet.”

I took my laptop and switched him to a free email address in less than three minutes.

Oh, parents.  What are we going to do with you?

Leave a Reply

