This Is Happening

Fun Fact: There’s a movie called Diner that came out in 1982 and it’s the best movie ever (hyperbole).

There’s a line in Diner, where one of the characters (Kevin Bacon) says to another character (Mickey Rourke), “Do you ever get the feeling that there’s something going on that we don’t know about?”

(That clip is not on YouTube, so enjoy this scene instead.)

Anyway, back to the point, “Do you ever get the feeling that there’s something going on that we don’t know about?”  I feel like that all the time, about everything, but mostly about music.

I graduated college in 2010.  That same year, a girl I was interested in couldn’t stop talking about the new LCD Soundsystem album.  I figured they were some relatively new electro-indie, Brooklyn based band following the likes of MGMT or Vampire Weekend.  I was wrong.  They had been around since I was in high school.  Had been Grammy nominated.  And instead of just starting out, were about to call it quits.

Truth be told, I never really got into them at the time.  Although, their stuff was enjoyable, my experience with them was never more than a few YouTube clips and their occasional appearance on my Vampire Weekend Pandora station.

I am listening to them right now (thanks to Spotify) and their really good.  I decided to give them a spin after I saw this trailer for the new documentary, “Shut Up and Play the Hits.”

That’s Madison Square Garden in the video.  These guys sold out Madison Square Garden and the crowd looks absolutely raucous and everybody in that crowd looks roughly my age.  And most importantly, I wish I was there, I wish I listened to these guys’ music, I wish I knew what was going on.

How did all this go on without me ever knowing/realizing?  How did I miss an entire career?  Why didn’t anyone clue me in?

This brings me to a freighting thought.  Their must be another awesome band out there right now,  that I have no clue about.  There most be an awesome show going on in New York City right now, that I have no clue about.  It’s depressing, thinking there’s something really awesome out their, that I’ll never know about it (or I’ll be two years, too late).

I don’t really know where I’m going with this post.  I guess all I can say is thank the Internet-Gods for Spotify and Pandora (and Wikipedia), because there’s so much going on that I don’t know about

4 thoughts on “This Is Happening

  1. Don’t worry man.

    I think because of the way the Internet works these days, we automatically think that if we DIDN’T know something, we’re ignorant/on another planet/not in on stuff that the cool kids are doing.

    But honestly, who cares.

    If you enjoy the music you discover years later then that’s really what matters. Music is a very intimate thing. It’s something you decide on your own terms: either you like it or you don’t. In fact, the same could be said for a lot of pop culture.

    So what that I never watched The Wire until this year? So what that I didn’t find out about Sufjan Stevens’ “Illinois” until I discovered them via “Little Miss Sunshine” a year later? So what that I haven’t seen all the “Star Wars” films (yeah, I need to get on that)?

    “The Wire” and “Illinois” and the “Star Wars” films will still be great years later. And that’s all that matters. That Jimi Hendrix died many years before I was born doesn’t make his music any less awesome – if it did, he wouldn’t be the legacy he is today.

    If, after all that, you still feel like you’re missing out take comfort in the fact that any bands/acts you’re missing out on will probably reunite or, at the very least, have a reunion tour (prefereably before they get old and their voices start to go).

    Peace.

    • Yea, but think about if you never saw “Little Miss Sunshine” then you’d never been introduced to Sufjan Stevens…and that would suck (sorry for the lack of elegance)

      P.S. I just watched The Wire this year too.

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Albums from 1996-2011 | Whiskey & Ice Cream Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

