Kanye Stuntin’

“I’m not trying to stunt, man, but these Yeezys jumped over the Jumpman.” ~Kanye West – New God Flow

Is there a rapper, man, human being that stunts more/harder than Kanye?  Simple answer.  No.  Kanye himself would admit it (see above).  It’s all part of the Kanye’s charm.  The overextended hubris, that I‘m sure know turns some people off, is exactly the same reason I adore Kanye.

Now (like most people), I’m not usually a fan of the egotistical and arrogant, but I love when Kanye gets to stuntin’.  The reason? Because he owns it.  He honestly believes everything he’s saying, to him he’s just speaking the truth.  He never hedges or cops out.  You never hear him hide behind, “oh, that’s out of context,” or “I was misquoted.”  It’s refreshing, in a media world of publicists and image consultants, where men refer to themselves as “brands” and political correctness rules supreme.  Kanye says, FUCK IT!  And I love that.

  A Kanye West Stuntin’ Timeline (The Greatest Hits)

Grammy speech – 2005

Best Line:  Everybody wanted to know, what I would do if I didn’t win.  I guess we’ll never know.
To be honest, I don’t know if this is really a stuntin’ moment, but it’s the best Grammy acceptance speech of all time.  The guy got a standing ovation for god-sake.  I watch this at least once a month, even if you don’t like Kanye, you got to give him major props on this one.

European Music Awards – 2006

Best Line: This video cost a million dollars, fam…I’m jumping over canyons and shit.
Here is classic Kanye, running on stage, grabbing the mic and spewing about award show credibility.  Of course it was just a foreshadowing of things to come, but, in Kanye’s defense, Touch the Sky really did get robbed.

Tim Westwood – 2007


Best Line:  Duh, Id’ be in it…The Bible had 20, 30, 40, 50 characters in it.  You don’t think I’d be one of the characters of today’s modern Bible?
This is a really great Kanye rant.  Five straight minutes of unadulterated Kanye, but it really gets good at about the four minute mark.  First, comparing himself with Jim Morrison and Kurt Cobain, and then claiming if they wrote the Bible today he’d be in it.  Now this is stuntin’ at it’s best.

Martin Louie The King – 2009


Best Line:  All of them.
So much of this is terrific.  Just watch it, I have no words.

Top 3 in Everything – 2010

http://www.mtv.com/videos/movies/589195/kanye-west-says-hes-not-the-best-but-hes-top-3-at-everything.jhtml#id=1650485
Best Line: I can’t say I’m number one in any particular field…but I’m definitely top three in every field.
I love this, because this is Kanye’s attempt at being ‘humble.’  Also, the blasé manor he takes in announcing his goal to be the greatest artist of all time, like “ehh, it’s no big deal, it’s just a thing I want to accomplish.”

My Music is Perfect – 2012


Best Line: I am flawed as human being, I am flawed as a person, as a man I am flawed, but my music is PERFECT!!!!
“It’s hard to be humble when you stuntin’ on a Jumbo-tron” ~Kanye West –  Devil in New Dress

Leave a Reply

