Hey Girl it’s The Gangster Squad

Simply put, Ryan Gosling is my favorite actor.  I make no excuses about it.  Since Half Nelson, I’ve been all in on Gosling, and he hasn’t disappointed.  Whether he played a crack smoking teacher, a six pack wielding Lothario, a badass wheel man, or dated a sex doll, he killed it.  He broke out big in 2011, starring in three films, Crazy, Stupid, Love, Drive and The Ides of March (plus he released Blue Valentine at the tail end of 2010).  What makes Gosling so interesting, is his choice in movie rolls.  They always seem fresh and unique.  He plays a diverse range of characters (cough Denzel, cough George) and he doesn’t seem to be chasing awards (cough Leo, cough Brad).  He has three more films slated to release in 2012, the first being The Gangster Squad (trailer above).

Now, here is where I say what I feel like has to be said.  This is the first Ryan Gosling movie, since 2006, I am not at all interested in seeing.  Maybe it’s because I feel like I’ve seen it before, once in  Chicago, once in the south and another time in New York.  I mean it undeniably boasts a terrific cast, Sean Penn, Josh Brolin, Nick Nolte, Emma Stone, c’mon, but nothing in this trailer draws me to see this movie.  Which brings me to the next thing I feel, has to be asked.  Has Ryan Gosling become too mainstream?  Following The Gangster Squad, he stars next to Bradley Cooper, the definition of mainstream (not a compliment).  Though, I still hold out hope.  In his third upcoming film of the year, Gosling reunites with Nicolas Winding Refn (director of Drive), for what Gosling describes as “the strangest thing I’ve ever read and it’s only going to get stranger.”

Truth be told, I’ll probably end up seeing The Gangster Squad and maybe, hopefully, it proves me wrong.

2 thoughts on “Hey Girl it’s The Gangster Squad

  1. I agree that Gosling is a great actor, but this trailer makes him look like the odd man out. I mean…Gosling with the mob? That’s pushing it. Regardless, this looks like a movie with potential. I will be talking about this trailer briefly this Monday on my blog gamerscene.wordpress.com. Good post.

Leave a Reply

