I Forgot My Mantra

Tonight, while lazily flipping through channels, I stumbled upon Annie Hall (A film I have a real fondness for).  This halted my channel flipping, and I, of course, entrenched myself in front of the TV for the next two hours.  This is a movie I have seen many times, but for whatever reason, it felt like I was watching it for the first time (Woody Allen’s genius even inspired me to spend another two hours in front of the computer re-watching Manhattan).  So many lines felt personal to me, in a way they hadn’t before.

ANNIE HALL’S MOST IMPORTANT LINES (determined by me)

“I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member”
A line I think about, literally, all the time.  Whether it’s in a professional or social capacity.  Whenever, a job calls me back after an interview or a girl shows some interest, my first reaction is, “there must be something wrong with them, why me?”

“I don’t want to move to a city where the only cultural advantage is being able to make a right turn on a red light.”

This refers to the difference between Los Angeles and New York City, and reflects my exact thoughts after visiting L.A.

“No.  you know.  If I have grass or alcohol or anything, I get unbearably wonderful. I get too, too wonderful for words”

My response in college when offered weed (I don’t smoke).  Often met with blank stares and confusion.

“Everything our parents said was good is bad. Sun, milk, red meat… college.”

My feelings on college now that I’m in post grad life.  Don’t get me started.

“I feel that life is divided into the horrible and the miserable. That’s the two categories. The horrible are like, I don’t know, terminal cases, you know, and blind people, crippled. I don’t know how they get through life. It’s amazing to me. And the miserable is everyone else. So you should be thankful that you’re miserable, because that’s very lucky, to be miserable.”

This is pretty dark, but it explains one of the reasons I don’t complain about things (especially on Facebook Status).

“You know how you’re always trying to get things to come out perfect in art because, uh, it’s real difficult in life”

The way I feel when I’m writing anything.

“Hey, don’t knock masturbation. It’s sex with someone I love.”

Self-explanatory.

“That’s essentially how I feel about life – full of loneliness, and misery, and suffering, and unhappiness, and it’s all over much too quickly.”

Sort of bleak, but totally accurate.

“This guy goes to a psychiatrist and says, “Doc, my brother’s crazy; he thinks he’s a chicken.” And, the doctor says, “Well, why don’t you turn him in?” The guy says, “I would, but I need the eggs.” Well, I guess that’s pretty much now how I feel about relationships; you know, they’re totally irrational, and crazy, and absurd, and… but, uh, I guess we keep going through it because, uh, most of us… need the eggs”

Basically an encapsulation of how I (and I assume everyone feels) after a heartbreak.

“You know, it’s one thing about intellectuals, they prove that you can be absolutely brilliant and have no idea what’s going on.”

I don’t know how to explain it.  I just feel this way sometimes a lot of the time.

Leave a Reply

