Coachella Envy

Today the internet was littered with Coachella clippings leaving me in a state of Coachella envy. Not to fret though, in a little over a month I will be making my first ever pilgrimage to Manchester, Tennessee for Bonnaroo. While the lineups overlap a bit, there were a few artists that rocked out on the west coast that I would have loved to see down south. That list includes, The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys, Florence and the Machine and Azealia Banks but three acts stand above the rest.

3.  The Weeknd

The haunting and dark R&B soloist made his US debut last weekend. A really unique R&B artist whose songs drip with sex, drugs and creepiness. He released a trilogy of mixtapes last year that shoved him into the spotlight and was heavily featured on Drake’s sophomore album. He owns a truly distinctive sound that seems to have its own sonic DNA. One of my favorite young acts out right now.

2.  Frank Ocean

Another up and coming R&B wunderkind, Ocean and The Weeknd invite comparisons due to the similar themes that run through their songs and their crooner sensibilities. Truth be told, I didn’t even like The Weeknd until after I listened to Frank Ocean. Ocean acted as a gateway drug to darker, deeper R&B. Nostiglia, Ultra was undoubtedly my favorite mixtape/album released last year. Plus he was one of the few features on the “Watch the Throne” album and killed it. He is slated to come out with a new album this year, although I haven’t heard much about it.

1.  Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg

I have written about their collabs before on this blog, so I won’t repeat myself much, but when these two come together its dynamite.  Add appearances by Eminem and 50 Cent (I wrote about them too) and a holographic Tupac to the mix, and this had to be the most talked about set at Coachella.

2 thoughts on “Coachella Envy

  1. If I had tix I would’ve picked these same three concerts plus Childish Gambino…have been watching Coachella clips on youtube nonstop for the past couple days feeling very jealous of the people who got to go haha

Leave a Reply

