Allow me to reintroduce myself…

Maybe I should just introduce myself, since “reintroducing myself,” insinuates that we know each other already but I’m listening to Jay-Z’s black album and few lyrics get my attention like the aforementioned. Anyway I’m Greg.  After reading some really good writers over the last few months, one emotion always presents itself, envy.  No matter what I am reading, whether it is a novel or a really well written blog post I have the overwhelming feeling of ‘Why can’t I do that?”  So I’ve decided I can do that, well I can try and do that. I know I am not a very good writer or so every professor or teacher has told me over the a little over a decade.

So, here is the plan, the more I write the better I’ll get.  They say practice makes perfect. Right?  To help illustrate exactly how bad of a writer I am I will share a little anecdote from my first semester of college.  The class was assigned to write a one page paper for English Comp and Rhetoric, a core class at Fordham University. During the next class the professor had photocopied my essay and handed it out to everyone in class and told them to circle every time any form of the verb “to be” was used, this included, “is”, “was”, “am” and of course “be”.  In one page I had used some form of the verb “to be” over 75 times an astounding amount, that equated to roughly 20% of the paper.  The great irony of this is that when I was young I wanted to be either a baseball player or an author.  The baseball thing waved bye to me around ninth grade as I am now regulated to just playing slow pitch softball on Monday nights but at least I’m playing.  I guess this blog will play the part of slow pitch softball in my writing career.

So far this post has been semi-self pitying or maybe full-fledged self-pitying but that is not its intent.  Its intent is to be a proclamation that I will write every day for the next year.  It is a challenge that I hope I can succeed in fulfilling.  I don’t know exactly what I am going to write about.  I have not put too much thought in to what will go into these posts.   I can assure you it will not be a diary, but some posts may be more personal than others. I can only assume there will be a lot of posts about the genius of Kanye, the greatness of Jeter or text etiquette, as these are some of the thoughts that populate my head quite regularly.  And while I have not planned any of my future posts, I can say with some confidence not all will be in paragraph form and while I do not know what that exactly entails I’ll try to at least make it interesting.

In closing, let’s see where this takes us.  Sorry, I’ve always been bad at conclusions.

“to be” Counter: 16

Leave a Reply

